Posted by: livingthecanadiandream | 6 May, 2011

My own place or shared with room mates?

I have viewed around eight place to stay for long-term now.

1. Around Skyline station Sperling – Burnaby Lake then bus. Quite far from Vancouver Downtown/central. Shared with three other girls. MINUS a cat

2. Near the Canada second biggest mall and 2 min walk from Skyline station Metrotown MINUS coin laundry, smoking smell and with one shared roomate that I did not know who is gonna be. PLUS balcony, swimingpool and gym

3. Around Canada Line – Oakridge – 41st Avenue then bus. One room with shared kitchen and bathroom. Shared with the landlord and her two sons. MINUS no living room access.

4. Around Skyline station 29th Avenue then bus. A really really nice woman in 30 with her husband. Basement with two others. But I will have access to the whole ground floor as well. MINUS – do not know which other persons I be sharing the rooms with.

5. Around Skyline station 29th Avenue then bus. Really good. I have a my own apartment literally. My own kitchen, walking in closet in the basement. MINUS – a kitten has lived there

6. Around Dunbar, close to UBC – the university. Transport with bus. Basement for myself. MINUS Quite of dark, no real oven or stove. AND NO LAUNDRY – you need to go 2-3 blocks to coin machines.

7. Around Dunbar, close to UBC, Alma St. Transport with bus. Basement with two others. One girl from Poland and one guy. Shared kitchen. A room with own bathroom. PLUS 13 blocks to ocean and cheap montly rent. MINUS no living room.

8.  Near Penticton St., close to harbour. Basement for myself. Newly renovated. MINUS from 1 st of June.

9. Today I am going to the UBC – Campus. Shared apartment with a Chinese girl. I do not know if I want to stay at the campus. PLUS more people in my age MINUS quite far from Vancouver Downtown/central. AND VERY VERY expensive.

No one of this was 100 % right! Maybe you think I am picky. But I do not want to move several times with all my belongings. Two inchecked luggage and two handbags, one with wheels and one on the back. Yeah, I do not think I will find a perfect one but one I will feel that I can stay for a longer time.  

Now I need to think about if I want to live by myself or shared accommodation and which area I want to live. It is difficult because I have not find any area that I feel WOW. And I want comfortable with the public transportion but then I know the rent will increase. Shared accommodation is good in one way then you want feel lonely but you need to get a long and compromise with the other.

What do you guys think? Do you think the campus area is good? or should I stay away from there?

Responses

  1. Voted for “Not by yourself”. Seems like a good opportunity to get to know some new people. I suppose you can move if it’s not good enough?

    About the being picky part, yea maybe you are overdoing this a bit 🙂 Just pick two places you like and flip a coin.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

