Posted by: livingthecanadiandream | 28 April, 2011

90-days drugs for a year???

When you call or asked authorities people have notice that they always refer to paragraphs and rules? And let me to find and construe (sv. tyda) the text?

Before you leave Sweden you can get prescription drugs (sv. receptbelagda mediciner) for all the time you are away just you show your boarding or confirmation letter – when you are leaving and when you are back. No problems with that. And you have the discount with the social insurance – patient’s cost ceiling within a one-year limit for medical care and medicine under the health service (sv. högkostnadsskyddet). No problems here either.

I call the pharmacy and they told me that you need to check with the Embassy of Canada if you are allowed to bring a one year usage of prescription drugs and if you drugs are allowed in Canada. Otherwise all the money you are spend at the drugs will be lost.

I send an email to the Embassy of Canada in Sweden, Canada’s Food and Drugs Act Liaison Office, Canada’s Health Care department, Canada’s customs department and Canada’s Foreign Affairs and International Trade .

The Canada’s food and Drugs Act Liaison Office forwarded my email to an inspectorat the Inspectorate for Health Canada.

My original email was:

Hi!

I contacted the Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada but theysaid I needed to talk to you.

I am going to Vancouver, Canada from Stockholm, Sweden with IEC. And Ineed to bring my prescription drugs with me. But the pharmacy said I need to check with the Embassy if it is okay to bring it to Canada without anyproblems in the customs and some much as one year usage.

My drugs are:

List of my drugs
Are these okay to bring all long with one year usage?

The inspector answered me.

Hello Ms,

Under Section C.01.045 of the Food andDrug Regulations importation of Schedule F drugs (prescription drugs) isrestricted to a practitioner, a drug manufacturer, a wholesale druggist,a registered pharmacist, or a resident of a foreign country while a visitorin Canada.

Visitors to Canada:
Visitors to Canada may bring into Canada,on their person a single course of treatment or a 90-day supply based onthe directions for use, whichever is less, of a prescription drug.

The drug must be for the individual’sown personal use, for the use of a person for whom they are responsibleand with whom they are travelling.

The drug must be shipped/carried inone of the following:Hospital or pharmacy dispensed packaging;
Original retail packaging; or
have the original label affixed to itwhich clearly indicates what the health product is and what it contains.

A visitor may import an additionalsingle unit, single course of treatment or a 90-day supply based on thedirections for use, whichever is less, of a prescription drug. When a proscriptiondrug is mailed to a Visitor, the drug should be accompanied by some formof documentation indicating that the drug is destined to a Visitor and/orthe Visitor should be prepared to provide documentation/written evidence(stamped passport, student./work visa, letter from an employer/universityetc) that they are a Visitor to Canada when requested.

Canadian Resident:
Importations of prescription drugs byCanadian residents are not permitted by mail or courier.

So as not to interrupt a course of treatment,Health Canada may use enforcement discretion to permit a Canadians returningfrom abroad to bring with them on their person a single course of treatmentor a 90-day supply based on the directions for use, whichever is less,of a prescription drug.

The drug must be for the individual’sown personal use or the use of a person for whom they are responsible andwith whom they are travelling.

The drug must be shipped/carried inone of the following:Hospital or pharmacy dispensed packaging;
Original retail packaging; or
have the original label affixed to itwhich clearly indicates what the health product is and what it contains.

Here is the Drug Product DatabaseOnline Query that you may find useful http://webprod.hc-sc.gc.ca/dpd-bdpp/index-eng.jsp
You may visit Health Canada websiteat http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/index-eng.php.

Should you have questions, please contactus at 416-973-1600.

How should you construe that!? I wanted to be sure so I asked again with questions with numbers. I wrote the blue marked questions with this sentence: so to answer my questions to my email after reading yoursection C.01.045 – I can’t call you because I need to have it all writtento show the customs. If it will be problems.

Hello Ms,
1. When I arrived to Canada with my work permitwith my IEC-visa for one year. Am I a visitor?

Please refer to the following website for definition of a visitor http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/index.asp

2. I am just allowed to bring 90-days of treatment?
Even though I am allowed to stay for a year?That’t mean that I need to go to a doctor to Vancouver to get more drugswhen I can get it from Sweden and not burden the Canada gouverment?

Visitors to Canada may bring into Canada,on their person a single course of treatment or a 90-day supply based onthe directions for use, whichever is less, of a prescription drug.

A visitor may import an additional singleunit, single course of treatment or a 90-day supply based on the directionsfor use, whichever is less, of a prescription drug. When a proscriptiondrug is mailed to a Visitor, the drug should be accompanied by some formof documentation indicating that the drug is destined to a Visitor and/orthe Visitor should be prepared to provide documentation/written evidence(stamped passport, student./work visa, letter from an employer/universityetc) that they are a Visitor to Canada when requested.

3. If I found my drugs in Drug ProductDatabase Online Query – Schedule F then it is okay to bring to Canada then?
The DPD contains product specific informationon drugs approved for use in Canada. The database is managed by HealthCanada and includes human pharmaceutical and biological drugs, veterinarydrugs and disinfectant products. It contains approximately 18,000 productswhich companies have notified Health Canada as being marketed.

Health Canada is the federal regulator oftherapeutic products. We are not a manufacturer. We do not take or fillorders for these products. For information on where these products aresold, please contact the individual company directly.

Thank You,

My conclusion and I asked a friend too is that I am allowed to bring 90-days of usage. They do not have anything for Working Holiday Visa. Or the inspector just copied the paragraphs and did not border to have look into it.

On the immigration site, no definition of visitor, I still do not know if I am classified as visitor or resident when I arriving. You need to take contact with your Embassy in the country you are at right know to ask questions about immigration. Argh!

Then I have another problem, my return ticket is 10th of December but I am planning to rebooked it. Can I asked my sister to buy drugs for me with power of attorney (sv. fullmakt) when she is coming to visit me and bring them along? If she can show my return ticket? I called the service center for Apoteket AB – a pharmacy company in Sweden. She could not answer that. You need to ask  the local pharmacy. I have try to find out if I still is covered with social insurance in Sweden if I fill the form that I living in Vancouver during a year. No luck to get that answer either!!! That’s why asked the Försäkringskassan – the social insurance office in Sweden, the county council in Stockholm and at last the pharmacy.

Tomorrow or today I will go the local pharmacy and asked them after my call to the Embassy of Canada in Stockholm. To need drugs makes all the trip so difficult right now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

