Posted by: livingthecanadiandream | 16 February, 2011

Single or return ticket?

I had my own ideas to just buy a single ticket. Just because I may want to travel after “the year”. But a travel agent got me to think about a return ticket. Because a single ticket cost almost like a return ticket.

Single

+ flexibility

– more expensive?

– I am worried about the border control authorities do not to let me in to the country.

The Embassy of Canada said:

Do I need a return ticket?
The border control authorities prefer to see a return ticket, but understand that it is difficult in some cases. If you travel with a one way ticket, you may have to show a statement from your bank showing that you have enough money to purchase a return ticket. In very rare cases you have to deposit the money at the border. We do not need to see the ticket.

(http://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/sweden-suede/youth-jeunesse/faq.aspx?lang=eng)

My friend called “the Canada Border Services Agency” and they said that the border control does not need to see a return ticket to the home country. But if you want to be really sure take contact with the Immigration department. So I did, but they said to take contact with your Canadian visa office if you are outside of Canada. And that is the Embassy of Canada!

(http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/contact/menu-eng.html) the Canada Border Services Agency

(http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/contacts/index.asp) Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Return ticket

+ cheaper

+ I know for sure that I can come home. I do not need to worry about money.

– the charges for rebooking the ticket

– I may not get the ticket I want when I rebook the ticket home.

– I must leave from Vancouver/Toronto airport.


Leave a Reply

Categories

